World Cup 2022 top scorers: Who is leading the race for the Golden Boot so far?

    GET your flags out as the World Cup is well underway – and some players will be targeting more than just the big trophy.

    Brazil, France, Argentina, Germany, England and others will all be vying to win the sport’s biggest prize in Qatar.

    Harry Kane won the World Cup 2018 Golden Boot


    Harry Kane won the World Cup 2018 Golden BootCredit: Getty – Contributor

    However, stars such as Kylian Mbappe, Harry Kane, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will want a certain individual award.

    The World Cup Golden Boot is one of the tournament’s most coveted prizes, with some of football’s legends having won it in the past.

    Brazilian Ronaldo, Gary Lineker, Gerd Muller and Eusebio have all picked up the award before.

    England’s Kane won it in 2018, and he’ll be hoping to do it all over again in Qatar.

    Qatar beer ban could cost Fifa staggering £40M with Budweiser World Cup deal
    Why isn't Harry Kane wearing the OneLove armband for England?

    France’s Karim Benzema, who won the Ballon d’Or earlier this year, WON’T be involved, however, as he has been ruled out of the tournament through injury.

    But Brazil superstars Neymar and Vinicius Jr will be eager to bring the award back to the South American country.

    In 2006 and 2010, Germany stars Miroslav Klose and Thomas Muller bagged the Golden Boot.

    Colombia superstar James Rodriguez won it in 2014 but he won’t be involved in this tournament as his country failed to qualify.

    Most read in Football

    Who has scored this week?

    Ecuador‘s Enner Valencia got off to the perfect start having bagged a double on the World Cup opener against the hosts Qatar.

    Jude Bellingham, Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford and Jack Grealish all grabbed themselves a goal for England.

    Arsenal talisman Bukayo Saka stole the headlines as he became the youngest ever player to score a double in their first World Cup match.

    Olivier Giroud then equalled Thierry Henry’s record of 51 goals for France with a brace against Australia.

    Ferran Torres scored twice in Spain’s 7-0 against Costa Rica and Richarlison bagged a brace in Brazil’s 2-0 win over Serbia.

    World Cup Golden Boot standings

    *Correct as of November 22 – 9pm

    1. Bukayo Saka – England – 2
    2. Olivier Giroud – France – 2
    3. Mehdi Taremi – Iran – 2
    4. Enner Valencia – Ecuador – 2
    5. Ferran Torres – Spain – 2
    6. Richarlison – Brazil – 2
    7. Jude Bellingham – England – 1
    8. Kylian Mbappe – France – 1
    9. Gareth Bale – Wales – 1
    10. Lionel Messi – Argentina – 1


    Previous articleWales receive huge boost as Joe Allen passes fitness test ahead of World Cup clash against Iran