World Cup 2022 teams: Which countries have qualified for Qatar – England and Wales ready for winter tournament as likes of Brazil, Germany, Argentina and France all eye tournament glory

    All eyes are now on Qatar as the 2022 World Cup takes centre stage.

    The Qatar World Cup kicked off on Sunday and now England will be among those gunning for glory this winter.

    The World Cup is coming up this winter


    The World Cup is coming up this winter

    Including the Three Lions and the host nation, 32 teams have confirmed their qualification for the competition.

    Wales managed to hold off the challenge of Ukraine to make it to their first World Cup since 1958 and they were joined late on by the likes of Australia and Costa Rica.

    World Cup 2022: Qualified teams

    The UEFA qualification group stages were wrapped up last November with England, Germany, Spain and France among the group winners.

    Meanwhile, Brazil and Argentina qualified from CONMEBOL first before being joined by Ecuador and Uruguay.

    Iran and South Korea were the first to make it from AFC and were then joined by Saudi Arabia and Japan.

    Canada have made it from CONCACAF and qualified for their first World Cup since 1986.

    The 32 teams must now submit their final 26-man squads to FIFA on Monday, November 14 by 7pm Qatar time (4pm in the UK). Several teams have already confirmed their selections and you can read the latest here.

    World Cup 2022 groups

    Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands

    Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales

    Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

    Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia

    Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan

    Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

    Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

    Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

    Gareth Southgate’s England will be at the Qatar World Cup


    Gareth Southgate’s England will be at the Qatar World Cup

    World Cup 2022: Who has missed out?

    Several high-ranking countries have failed to make the upcoming World Cup.

    Euro 2020 winners Italy crashed out and won’t be at the World Cup for the second time running after they lost to North Macedonia.

    In the CONMEBOL, big guns Chile and Colombia have missed out.

    Peru finished fifth in the qualification table but lost their play-off on penalties to Australia.

    Meanwhile, Costa Rica beat Oceanian play-off winners New Zealand 1-0 to make it to Qatar.

    In Africa, the play-offs brought huge drama.

    Senegal eliminated Egypt while Cameroon beat Algeria and Ghana edged out Nigeria.

    Morocco and Tunisia also went through at the expense of DR Congo and Mali.

    Watch the World Cup with talkSPORT

    At talkSPORT we are powered by fans, so come and join us for the ultimate World Cup fan experience this winter – at the talkSPORT Fan Zone.

    In a huge indoor venue under the arches at Waterloo in London, we’ll bring you live screenings of every World Cup game.

    There will be Q&As with talkSPORT talent, you’ll be part of our live broadcasts, and there will be plenty of food and drink on offer too.

    Come and enjoy the best World Cup fan experience in London – and enjoy a pint on us – with tickets all games on sale HERE!


    Previous articleDenmark to hold talks with England over QUITTING Fifa amid huge World Cup row about One Love armband ban
    Next articleTsimikas & Elliott party to One Kiss, Thiago watches Lakers – LFC players on holiday