No Mour trophies since I left

Jose Mourinho has taken a swipe at Manchester United’s trophy drought, reminding them he won their last THREE pieces of silverware, writes ANTHONY CHAPMAN.

The Red Devils are on their longest run without a trophy since they were last relegated in 1974 – nearly 50 years ago.

United boast the most amount of Premier League wins since the competition’s inception in 1992, lifting the title 13 times.

But their last domestic success came almost a decade ago in 2013 during Sir Alex Ferguson’s final season before retirement.

Since then, the likes of David Moyes, Louis van Gaal, Mourinho, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Ralf Rangnick have all failed to deliver England’s top prize.

However, Moyes won the Community Shield during his brief time at the Old Trafford helm.

And Van Gaal ended his tenure with victory in the FA Cup.

But it was Mourinho who enjoyed the most success, winning the Community Shield, Carabao Cup and Europa League.

Indeed, United’s 2017 victory on the continent remains the last trophy they have won.

And Mourinho, who was sacked by the Red Devils in December 2018, has aimed a cheeky dig at his former side after leading latest club Roma to the Europa Conference League final.

The Special One, who claims his biggest achievement in football was leading United to a second-place league finish in the 2017/18 campaign, said: “We won together three titles at Man United.

“Unfortunately the last three titles of Man United. I say unfortunately because I like the club very, very much and I wish the club the best.

“We won three titles together so everything went well, in the second season was a little bit different.”


Previous articleTottenham vs Arsenal has never been bigger for the Gunners with Champions League, finishing above Premier League rivals, doing the double and a £52.8million windfall in the offing
Next articleArsenal make first bid for Gabriel Jesus but fall short of Man City asking price