FIFA World Cup 2022 Golden Boot: Top scorers in Qatar

    The official FIFA World Cup ball for Qatar 2022
    The race is on for the Golden Boot (Picture: Hector Vivas – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)

    The Golden Boot is awarded to the player who scores the most goals at the FIFA World Cup.

    If two players end the tournament with the same number of goals, then the first tiebreaker is the number of assists, followed by the minutes per goal ratio if needed.

    Penalties in normal and extra-time count, however goals scored in a penalty shootout do not.

    Here are the highest goal scorers at the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar.

    Most goals at Qatar 2022

    Previous Golden Boot winners

    FIFA first gave out an award to the top goalscorer at the World Cup in 1982, when it was branded as the Golden Shoe.

    Since 2010, the award has been referred to as the Golden Boot, with silver and bronze boots handed out to the players with the second and third most goals respectively.

    Harry Kane won the Golden Boot in 2018 with his six goals guiding England to the semi-finals.

    The record for the most goals scored in a single World Cup is held by French striker Just Fontaine, who managed an incredible 13 goals during the 1958 tournament in Sweden.

    Previous Golden Boot winners at the FIFA World Cup

    • 2018: Harry Kane (6)
    • 2014: James Rodriguez (6)
    • 2010: Thomas Muller (5)
    • 2006: Miroslav Klose (5)
    • 2002: Ronaldo (8)
    • 1998: Davor Suker (6)
    • 1994: Oleg Salenko, Hristo Stoichkov (6)
    • 1990: Salvatore Schillaci (6)
    • 1986: Gary Lineker (6)
    • 1982: Paolo Rossi (6)

    MORE : World Cup 2022: Schedule, fixtures, teams, kick-off times and TV coverage

    MORE : How can England get to the 2022 World Cup final? Best and worst routes

    Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

    Share your views in the comments below


    Previous article‘I’m a bit fed up’ – Gareth Southgate says he’s ‘miserable so and so’ as he tells England they ‘must be better’ vs USA