Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Manchester United stars included in Brazil’s World Cup squad

    Gabriel Jesus Arsenal Alisson Liverpool Antony Man Utd
    Brazil stars Gabriel Jesus of Arsenal, Alisson of Liverpool and Antony of Man Utd (Photo: Getty)

    Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Manchester United stars are among the players included in Brazil’s official 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup.

    Manager Tite officially announced his squad on Monday, with the South American nation heading to the Middle East as one of, if not the favourite to win the tournament.

    As such, anticipation was high for who would make the cut with so many world-class Brazilian stars available for selection, and in the end the squad is dominated by Premier League players.

    There were many rumours that Arsenal forwards Gabriel Jesus and Gabriel Martinelli would not get called-up but they have made the cut, though sadly their Gunners teammate Gabriel Magalhaes has not.

    As expected, Liverpool duo Alisson Becker and Fabinho are in, as is Chelsea defender Thiago Silva who will captain the national team.

    United have three representatives in the squad namely Fred, Casemiro and Antony, as well as Alex Telles who is currently on loan at Sevilla.

    The other Premier League stars included are Manchester City goalkeeper Ederson, Newcastle midfielder Bruno Guimaraes, West Ham attacker Lucas Paqueta and Tottenham forward Richarlison.

    Brazil’s 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup:

    Goalkeepers: Alisson (Liverpool), Ederson (Manchester City), Weverton (Palmeiras)

    Defenders: Alex Sandro (Juventus), Alex Telles (Sevilla), Dani Alves (Pumas), Danilo (Juventus), Bremer (Juventus), Éder Militao (Real Madrid), Marquinhos (Paris Saint Germain), Thiago Silva (Chelsea)

    Midfielders: Bruno Guimaraes (Newcastle), Casemiro (Manchester United), Everton Ribeiro (Flamengo), Fabinho (Liverpool), Fred (Manchester United), Lucas Paquetá (West Ham)

    Forwards: Antony (Manchester United), Gabriel Jesus (Arsenal), Gabriel Martinelli (Arsenal), Neymar Jr. (Paris Saint Germain), Pedro (Flamengo), Raphinha (Barcelona), Richarlison (Tottenham), Rodrygo (Real Madrid), Vinicius Jr. (Real Madrid)

    Other notable names on the plane include PSG’s Neymar, Real Madrid’s Vinicius Jr. and veteran Dani Alves who is set to overtake the legendary Roberto Carlos as Brazil’s second-most capped player of all-time.

    There are not too many surprises in the squad, with the biggest omissions being that of defender Gabriel and Liverpool forward Roberto Firmino.

    Brazil have won the World Cup a record five times with their most recent triumph coming in 2002.

    Brazil are in Group G for the World Cup and kick-off their campaign on November 24 against Serbia, followed by clashes with Switzerland and Cameroon.

    MORE : Jack Wilshere heaps praise on ‘unplayable’ Arsenal youngster Ethan Nwaneri

    MORE : Raphael Varane hands France and Manchester United huge boost ahead of World Cup

    For more stories like this, check our sport page.

    Follow Metro Sport for the latest news on
    FacebookTwitter and Instagram


    Previous articleWatch Neymar’s shock reaction to Arsenal star Gabriel Martinelli making Brazil World Cup squad ahead of Rberto Firmino
    Next articleLiverpool drawn to play Real Madrid in Champions League last 16